OMO: O-OMONA! Girls Girls Girls Must Love Them? – [GOT7’s Girls Girls Girls MV Review]

Before anything else, Hi there GOTCHAs! Yep! They already have their official fandom name. JYP’s fast. I know.

GOT7Logo

Let’s take a look at that MV immediately! If you still have not seen the MV, which is very unlikely, but just in case as always, please play it now. It is probably poster after the next sentence or after a smiley. Thank You! =)

The first thing that will grab your attention for this music video is their Wheelman. What is a Wheelman? Well, they are the crossbreed of a skateboard and a motorcycle, a crossboard but it is of a different company and you get to place your feet through the wheels. Yep. To make it simple and more obvious, they are the ones that the boys are riding at the start of the video. I think JYP is now accumulating more unusual thing too.

GOT7Montage2

Let’s go back to the main point of this review.

Truthfully, the beat of this song sounds oddly familiar. I think I have heard it from some other song earlier (what’s with this similar familiar beat thing this year KPop?!) which turn me off a bit when I played it because we all know how capable JYP is on mixing melodies and sounds and most of the time when he does that, it results in a very relatable and hit tracks. And to answer your question if this single is composed by THE JYP himself, the answer would be YES, he composed Girls Girls Girls and I also do not know where the JYP whisper went. I kind of miss it now too. (Who ever thought that we will all be missing it eventually? Haha!) The lyrics or the rap lines are quite surprising for a JYP song though. Bragging? I never saw them this brag-y. Maybe it is part of their strategy to hook the younger audiences and yes, most of rap these days are self-centered. Ehem.

WeAllGOT7

The group somehow pulled the “braggy and confident” image though. They were really exuding self-confidence there but you can still see a hint of shyness and self-doubt, just a bit. The shyness added up to the cuteness. I think that they are routing for the rough badass rule-breaking high school-er or whatever “manly” means but sorry guys, they are still cute for now. Check out on me again after a couple of years and I’ll re-evaluate…. And, and, and they are still really young.

The story line of this music video does not have that much aside from the opening scene where they portrayed to be in high school with a kind of rule breaking-kind of cool atmosphere. It was a fine story thing and the girl at the beginning I think will be the next Sohee. The hidden youngsters club is cool but a little flawed considering that the whole place was a hole in the wall and I wonder if the neighboring establishments never wondered where all the noise was coming from. The earing drop thing and the urge to return it back and being Pandora about it is a nice twist to reveal the youngsters club. It all started with an earring ei?

GOT7Jackson Earring

I am having mixed opinions about the choreography though. I don’t know if I actually hate it or it is just okay. I know that we are all in awe about their air flying thing and how easy they can do handstands but where are not just looking out for highlights, we also have to consider the whole routine. The steps are really quite simple and it is not really that complicated, well, besides the slow-mo cartwheel and the flying things of course. The omona part was, okay, cute and besides those things, I am not really sure if their routine for this is really memorable. I expected more for their dance really. This is JYP by the way and iconic dances are their forte, honestly speaking. I bet if you heard “Again and Again”, you’ll do the thumbs-up-thread mill dance and if I say “I Can’t Breathe” you’ll probably do the fainting dance. See how they stick to your mind and how addicting JYP dances are? Not to mention “Nobody” and how ground breaking it is. Well, we can probably remember Girls Girls Girls routine by the flying thing but we cannot imitate it just as easy as we imitate other JYP routine which is a bit sad of a reality but a bit great also. I guess their dance is okay. I still haven’t pointed out that their choreography will be better if they were all dancing to it in synch but then again, I guess they are also concentrating on their flying routine. That’s really dangerous and if I were them, I’ll be really concerned and focused on that too. As I think of it now, maybe it is a good routine that they can all improve to be the best routine and, yeah, I really don’t like them to pause while one or two of them flies. I am not saying that for the benefit of this group only. I don’t like dead air pauses even for other groups who does flying things. (Yes, this paragraph also deserves a title, let’s all call it => The Flying Paragraph. Ugh! I used “Flying” a lot)

GOT7TheNextSohee

I just hope that for their comeback, they are more in synch and whatever JYP has come out with by then, it will be more ground breaking and mind blowing which I think they are actually concocting now (… or not. They are still going to debut other groups this year.)

To argue with my own self, I think that this group is really bankable. Considering how many fans they have managed to have for such a short period of time. I think they have the charisma to pull people. I think JYP should focus on that.

Grafitti in Korea

Honestly, when JYP announced that they will be launching a “Hip Hop Group”, I was a bit doubtful by what he wanted Hip Hop would be. JYP was doing great with retro, pop and ballad. That’s the agency’s forte anyways and supplying KPop with Hip Hop groups is another agency’s agenda, you know what I mean right? I am not saying that 2PM’s 10 out of 10 that debuted the group seven years ago do not sound anything like Hip Hop. It was hip hop but it was waaaaayyy more generic pop than Hip Hop but the beastly but cute part did the trick. I mean, who would not want beastly cute-looking guys to rank your looks and deliberately say that you’re 10 out of 10? 2PM was market as, like what I have said, “BEASTLY” idols with six packs and all and they were doing tumbling and back flips and all. They were really doing acrobatics, and that’s where JYP’s trademark of flying artists came from. It was really cool seeing a shift from the cheesiness of things back then.

These days are a different story. The agency just straight-forwardly said that Hey! We are launching a Hip Hop Group and well, that’s it. No beastly, no cute, no Hey! They are going to be handsome. The looks of them are just well, up to us. No appearance adjective suggestions. The only characterization they all told us are; one, they are going to do Hip Hop. Two, they are going to still do back flips but instead of landing immediately, they will momentarily fly in the air (Yes, that’s what I think “martial arts” tricking is). Three, from our own observations, they are all younger than most of us who have probably went into liking KPop during the Second Generation Era.

But what intrigued us more, probably, is that we all have seen them once and they did good rap in that one time and we all thought that maybe THE JYP is taking Hip Hop seriously these days. Well, I will not say that he was joking with the whole thing either. He looks like he is going to make this thing work (oh well, it already worked! It did clicked to most of us) and I think he did well this time.

GOT7wigglewiggle

GOT IT Mini-album, Mini-Review Time!

–   Hello was the track that made me realize that JYP is really serious about his Hip Hop nowadays. The chorus is a bit outlying in terms of the vanished beat when it plays but it somehow managed to blend well with the lyrics.

–   I Like You is trying to hypnotize you with that repeating voice. Believe Me! On my normal note, I like the sudden transition towards the chorus. This song is meant to flatter you despite your imperfections just like how many girls like it. I guess it worked huh?

–   Follow Me is the opening beat for the Girls Girls Girls MV just in case you were wondering and I think that this should be track 1 in this mini-album.

–   Like Oh is not that striking and a bit out of place.

–   Playground proved to all of us that GOT7 does not only rap, they also sing! This is actually the most out of place track in this album but maybe they are trying to show us variety. Who am I even kidding here? This is JYP. You should sing first before you can enter, right? This is a nice track. If you haven’t heard this yet, well, go ahead play it now!

If you are looking for an album to play over and over again with cohesiveness to it, this is not it BUT if you are looking for an album which can prove to you that rookies these days can kill, PLAY THIS! It gives you a bit of variety, a bit of doubt and a bit of awe that YES! JYP is really venturing on the genre that you all thought they lack at.

This debut proved to us that JYP was not really venturing on being dormant last year, they are planning for this year last year. They are having brain wrecking activities that includes plans of making a comeback to all of that happened. They are resurfacing guys, to other labels out there: Watch out!
credits: jypentertainment

This is the part where I kinda advertise the blog, hehehe!
If you are wondering where you can talk to me (us) or where you can follow my everyday KPop thought process, I (this blog) always has a twitter, it’s @tryalittlekpop. We also have a facebook page, so please like www.facebook.com/tryalittlekpop. Ask us anything at ask.fm => ask.fm/tryalittlekpop.

We really love hearing from you. So if you have rants, violent reactions, random questions and you just wanted to tell us something. Go to those sites or, yeah I forgot! You can also send an email at tryalittlekpop@gmail.com. See you here and See you on those SNSsssss.

For summary
Twitter: @tryalittlekpop
Facebook: www.facebook.com/tryalittlekPop
Ask.fm: ask.fm/tryalittlekpop
E-mail: tryalittlekpop@gmail.com

Thanks You!
=)

One comment

Leave a comment