OMO: They Can’t Stop Making Your Heart Pop – [CNBlue’s Can’t Stop MV Review]

CNBlueGroupPic

I know, I know they are a bunch of ever so cute and charming bunch of gentlemen who, by the way, can sing. They can sweep you off your feet just like that and they are confessing that they, apparently “Can’t Stop”.

Let me tell you a story first. The storyline deals with alternate worlds which are in contact with each other by a mirror, clever idea. Yes. I like how things transcend from Yong Hwa’s world to the world of the lady. First, paper planes to flowers until Yong Hwa could actually literally see and feel the sadness and longing of the lady by a literal hanging rain cloud that just hovers over him and he did open an umbrella for it. Weird but cool. They actually went for dates despite the actual mirror barrier in between them, don’t ask me how they do it because I really do not know either. A cool metaphor on how to different people seem to compensate on things that they differ in when they are in love but then again, they somehow grow apart specially if they found a new (mirror) person. In this case literally ‘cause they are, again, in two alternate worlds and as you have watched, Yong Hwa broke the mirror slash barrier that separates them apart. (aaaawwww….. how sweeeeettt….)

Here’s my problem though; this MV lacks Jung Shin, Jong Hyun and Min Hyuk. Yep, I did see them during the band parts and don’t get me started with that “because Yong Hwa is the frontman” excuse. They should have tried to incorporate the other members too just like what they have done to the other CNBlue music videos in the past. There are actually excessive beauty shots on this one too. I believe that this MV needs more of the whole band than more of the leading lady; the band is what we are here for in the first place. On other thing, what’s with Can’t Stop written and shadowed all over the place, I think once is enough too.

CNBlueLeadingLadyAppreciationMoment

The song started as ballad which made me think that the whole thing will be ballad but then I remembered their teaser in which they were all jumping, so yeah, I thought naaahh…. maybe not. Lo-and-behold, It is not ballad all throughout which is a bit, well, unusual. We have to agree that there’s a bit of mash-up thing that had happen with this track right? A bit of a hidden disjointed thing (remember “disjointed”? The hit trend last year?) is happening here. But unlike the songs last year, this managed to connect the beginning and the starting point of both melodies better. We could say that it is almost like a smooth but sudden jump which is uplifting to the mood of the song but a bit confusing to the listener too but your ears will eventually adjust to the change right away and you can hint that, yes, this is still that song that I was listening to a while ago. But I am not really a big of fan of those jumps.

CNBlueIntroducingOurProducts
CNBlueWeirdThings1CNBlueWeirdThings2CNBlueWeirdThings3

For me, personally, from what CNBlue has offered to us last year with I Love You, this is a bit of a downgrade rather than an upgrade from the plateau that they are trying to put up. It’s like from what they have managed to showcase last year, this is a step back. They were a lot edgier last year than this. It is still a good song to listen too but I’d rather see them tackling much more edgier concepts (maybe venturing to the rock genre? I don’t know… something like that) than putting up with jumps and hidden disjointedness. I’ll be looking forward to their next comeback.

CNBlueSayYes

credits: CNBlue’s channel on YouTube

One comment

  1. Pingback: CNBLUE FIFTH MINI-ALBUM [CAN'T STOP] Review | Try A Little KPop

Leave a Reply

