Year- End OMO: 25 KPop Music Videos I Should Have Reviewed This Year

Christmas has passed and what do we know?! This year is apparently ending in a couple of days and we are all going to face another year! Wee~! Yeah, yeah. Spare me the rants on how slow I review music videos most of the time. I have my own reasons but, yeah, I should have done my duty and do my work anyway. So here I am, regretting all the excuses I had and I am reviewing 25 of MVs that I think I should have done a review this year.

25 KPop MVs I Should Have OMO-ed 2013

Notes:
(a) It was not that I was just feeling too lazy doing OMOs. Actually, it was either I thought about reviewing the MV but I was very busy doing another thing or (most of the time) I have a draft of the review but I end up not publishing it.
(b) To make sure that I will not be straying out of topic and I will be going to be somehow straightforward (and to prevent you, readers, from being bored), the reviews for each MV all are limited to ONE Paragraph. Yes, that’s my self-imposed challenge.
(c) This will and will look like a TL;DR but if you want to know what are my insights on these MVs. I think, this is worth reading
(d) Most importantly, before we start, the following MVs are not arranged according to my preference. They are ordered according to the month of their release.

(e) Let’s now start! Shall we? Okay.

 

 

25. Lee Hi’s Rose

Suspended Roses – are the two words that will hit my mind every time someone reminds me of this MV. The music video is beautiful and it has a slight taste of effervescence in it. Lee Hi is one of the youngest and most talented vocalists out there at the moment. Though I still love It’s Over more than this, I think YG stayed true to what Lee Hi’s image is soulful yet strong. Her voice in this particular track pierces through the headphones and her voice will definitely leave a mark on your brain that once you hear this timbre of voice, it is definitely Lee Hi.

 

 

24. Jay Park’s JOAH

We all think he’s cute. I mean, he’s really cute. Admit it. The guy just put up his entertainment agency this year. Kudos to that! This song is one of those feel good music that you will definitely play while driving out of town which your friends will like whether they are into KPop or not. I don’t know if this music video was the one which made “walking on streets” a trend this year but this is definitely the first one with that. This does remind me of One Less Lonely Girl for some reason, maybe because Jay is also following a lady in this video?

 

 

23. Juniel’s Pretty Boy

Yes, this is one of those typical cutesy music videos that you will encounter almost every single time although I think that KPop has toned down a bit on being cute this year. Juniel has all the reasons to have a cute concept; she has a cute adorable voice in the first place. I like the way that she does play the guitar on every single stage for the promotions of this song. And c’mon! I think idols also know the little dance step in this song. It’s a pretty MV but I wish Juniel would also do something else besides playing the guitar sometimes just for a little flavor.

 

 

22. 4Minute’s What’s Your Name

I still don’t have any idea why there are zombies in this music video. Someone enlighten me on that. Somebody give Brave Sound a “best composer for addicting songs” award. I swear that all of his songs can manage to stick in your head for a week! I don’t know why the music video is trying to be Hip Hop-ish when the song is somehow electric. Being disjointed is somehow a trend in KPop this year, so, yeah… If you happen to hear the sudden change in the first bridge of the song, yes, that was what I am talking about. The song is really catchy but what’s with the sudden zombie apocalypse?! I don’t get it.

 

 

21. T-ara N4’s Countryside Life

What is my main problem with T-ara videos, in general? They are one of those groups who have production people who are industrious enough to make a Drama version and a Dance version for each of their MVs but like what I’ve stated before, let’s opt for the drama version. Whether you like this song or not, one thing is for sure, this is groovy. Reviving their shuffling and adding quirky dance steps, you will surely know how to dance with this once it starts playing on the radio. I have to agree that this sounds like a euphemism to their detractors but I while being entertained with the song, the humor and the music video, honestly, you will not think of that stuff anymore.

 

 

20. Hello Venus’ Do You Want Some Tea

This is one of those creepy music videos where all the members are dating the same guy and they all want the guy to fall in love with all of them, without them knowing of course. In real life, the guy will be considered as a jerk by then but, oh well, we are not in real life so yeah. The song and music video are charming. If there is one song that would let me identify Hello Venus from the rest of the crowd at this very moment, this song will be it.

 

 

19. B1A4’s What’s Happening

This is the male equivalent of Hello Venus’ Do You Want Some Tea! I love the peculiar dollhouse theme that this MV has but the scary part was having your doll girlfriend to cheat on you with a doll boyfriend. That would make sense because they are both dolls but yeah, that was not the point. What made this song win on stages is definitely not the video. I believe that what people love about this B1A4 track is the fun that the boys are having every time they all stand on stage and perform this song. The energy they have is really contagious.

 

 

18. 2PM’s A.D.T.O.Y (All Day Thinking of You)

You would love to have them to think about you all day, that’s for sure. I will even bet the whole my savings on that, if I have one. This video is hot that the first time I watched it, I thought it should be somehow age-restricted. Damn, those girls were lucky right? Slightly risqué with men swaying their hips is probably one of the weird combinations there is and men swaying hips are somewhat really disturbing but what the hell! They are hot. All I can say is that, this is hot and I wish they did follow-up promotions ‘cause we are lacking JYP artists this year.

 

 

17. Nine Muses’ Wild

Speaking of hot, I think Nine Muses is one of the hot underdogs that the whole KPop community somehow manages to skip every now and then. Yes, they are sexy (c’mon some of them are real models, beat that!). If grayscale and rouge red is not sexy for you, I don’t know what is. Song wise, this reminds me of Be Mine of Infinite and an anime ending song. This is one of their best songs and I wish we let them have their chance to shine.

 

 

16. SHINHWA’s This Love

I don’t know what happened in May that men are suddenly dancing to girl group-like dance steps but yes, for your second installment on that. Here is Shinhwa with This Love and their Vogue dance step. You know what’s the most amazing thing of all? These men pulled it of and they all mean it. Their “manly-ness” was not even affected by their Vogue dance. The song is a sleek party music and whotold told you that men in their 30s are less hot than men in their 20s?

 

 

15. EXO’s Wolf

We have to admit that this is not the best song in the world and yes, I am also a fan. Is that the reason that I did not review this? Partially yes and the other half of the reason was I was waiting for the drama version that took forever to be released! But let us also accept that this song does not have the easiest choreography in the world. Trust me, try it and know for yourself. It’s a total body work-out! About the drama version, hmmm…. A little more acting practice and they’ll get there but nice Parkour-ing! …and, also, I really want to gather people and try the tree thing!

 

 

14. MBLAQ’s Smoky Girl

That posh luxury party MV. Yep, that is how I characterize this music video. This kind of stands out from the rest due to the fact that there are not a lot of KPop party songs out there and yeah, they look good alright especially in those black and those white suits. I don’t know about everyone but for me this is a bit of a boring song but of course, the way that the line “Smoky Girl, smoky girl, smoky girl” repeats itseld through the whole song will definitely have it glues in your brain for days. But, yeah, this is not their best song.

 

 

13. SISTAR’s Give It To Me

I have a draft for a full-length OMO for this and I don’t know why I didn’t publish it. Cabaret sexy, who would not fall for that?! They all have the voice. How they manage to transform a somehow heartbreak song to this sexy outcome is good. You know what’s even sexier than that? They are not stick-thin unlike most girl groups. The confidence that they have onstage passes through the audience and that’s also sexy.

 

 

12. XIA Junsu’s 11am

Junsu + Acapella + Calm outdoor set with chirping birds in the background, does that need explanation still? If you haven’t seen this MV nor heard this song; YOU MUST PLAY IT NOW! And let Junsu melt your heart with his voice and his handsomeness. I am serious with the melting your heart part and the handsomeness, SO GO! PLAY THIS!

 

 

11. f(x)’s Rum Pum Pum Pum

This is like the least marketed SM song for this year. f(x) released a full-length album and what did SM do? They made Rum Pum Pum Pum their feature song. It’s not that I hate this song but if you listen to the album, there are better songs than First Wisdom tooth…aish! Okay too much for my rants! This song is the typical f(x), electro-pop and somehow cutesy with splash of techno. The music video looks like a re-styled Pinocchio set but I love the revolving camera sets. I really wish that they just promoted Airplane or Step instead, it was summer when they came back for a point. I like the 8-bit and literal pink tape for the album but I just hope that these girls will get more exposure and releases this coing year. Like, what the hell SM?! They are talented too! Showcase them more!

 

 

10. EXO’s Growl

This is the most marketed SM song of the year. I am not kidding! Although I am a true-blue EXO fan, you cannot help but notice that SM really made an effort to market this and right now, I really think that Growl is EXO’s signature song as “Sorry Sorry” to Super Junoir and “Gee” to Girls’ Generation. This song and MV made these boys the EXO you know today. The selling point of the whole thing (MV and the song) is that all of the aspect of it is just simply “cool”; you know the angst-y song and the angst-y dance moves. The blinking lights on an empty warehouse and boys who look like they have a secret fraternity. That makes girls crazy. I don’t blame them, I don’t blame SM too. I like the whole stuff! I still don’t get the gist of the drama version though! Haha!

 

 

9. Seungri’s Gotta Talk To You

I have to point out the rated 19 teaser of the album. That’s the first time that YouTube asked for my age and e-mail for a KPop MV. What the heck! …and boom! I was shocked and out of words the moment the teaser started playing. He really wants to talk about love, doesn’t he? Gotta Talk To You – if you ask me to describe it in 2 words it would be Psychedelic and Sleek and I really love the sleek part to it. It will somehow hint that “hey! I am a dance song” at the beginning but the song being a full blast party song towards the ending gives that “wow! this is a unique thing” kind of vibe. You know YG, unpredictable and we all love it.

 

 

8. TEEN TOP’s Rocking

These guys can dance! I mean, I know they are great dancers but yeah, their dance sequence here is ill (Ill meaning good not Ill meaning bad you know?!) Although I did not really know why they are trashing each other by throwing punches in the middle of the MV and it is a box-set MV (and somewhere it kinda look like a Block B set) it still manage to pull a cool guy MV. I didn’t even know that TEEN TOP have an excessive number of caps. They have a cap collection, haven’t they? ‘cause yeah, Teen Top they gonna rock it, drop it, top it. Don’t stop it, Pop it!

 

 

7. Kara’s Damaged Lady

We are all waiting for the return of this group for like an eternity already. I was so used to having them all the time around KPop as well as the other second generation idols. When I first played this song the thought that immediately cross my mind was “Oh! It sounds like an anime ending song!” It does right? The MV is not really that outstanding or anything but I kind of hope that you can do those things that the girls did on their jerk ex-boyfriends in this MV. Don’t wish the same? I like how this girls progress from Mister to Lupin and to Damaged Lady. The song’s lyrics has this message about self-worth to it that it was meaningful and I just wish they really could stay 5 forever. Yep, just saying.

 

 

6. G-Dragon’s Crooked

This MV made a certain trend among the other MVs that was released this year; I call it “Lonely, Street Walking Syndrome”. This song is full hate just look at how the song was delivered but nonetheless we can relate to it. Who wants to be proper when all you feel is hate (I don’t want to sound cheesy but it’s inevitable) and regret. The flow of the song was right, at first, you feel brave about shouting your hate but as it goes you will feel how vulnerable you are and you just want to have self-pity. I like how they portray this MV and how he runs and parties across the streets of London and hell yeah! A true graffiti wall!!! Yey for YG! I like how they transformed the peace sign into GD too.

 

 

5. IU’s Red Shoes

If you want an MV with a story, this is it! 1920’s has never been this this red (with a shoe that is). The Great Gatsby-ish theme is really impressive considering that IU is breaking away from her cutesy image and she is tap-dancing away from it. The MV was fun to watch, though I am not really sure why all her friends were guys. Her plot and setting for this MV is really refreshing to watch and it feels like a break from all the KPop MVs that we are all used to. The big band sound is also one of the unique aspects of IU this year. She really wants to prove that she is now a woman and she is trying her best to be a good one.

 

 

4. Kim Jaejoong’s Just Another Girl

Yes, that MV with falling furniture and musical instruments! Though we can all agree that indeed Jaejoong + rock song will remaim hot forever. This has less angst than his previous single. Nevertheless, it still stands out through the rest of the releases this year because we have to admit that there are just few KPop acts that venture on rock. Although I think that JYJ should release another track with all three of them in it (and where on Earth is Yoochun this year?), these solo releases from both Junsu & Jaejoong this year is still better than none, right? Let’s all hope for a better next year for all of them (I intend that last line to be vague… yep! I hope you all get what I mean)

 

 

3. Miss A’s Hush

Harry Potter leaking water scene! Yep. I saw all that water and The Chamber of Secrets comes to my mind. I am crazy, I know! I am not gonna lie when I say I felt kind of “meh” at the start of the song but towards the acoustic chorus things got better. The lines in that chorus sticks like a tacky glue in your head for quite a while. What I like about Miss A’s kind of sexy is that their sexy is not the draggy sexy just like what Jia explained on the YTMA’s countdown show this is the “healthy kind of sexy”.

 

 

2. Hyorin’s Lonely

Thus, walking alone in London indeed became a thing (thanks to GD!). Although this is less destructive and more crazy you cannot get away with the fact that she is indeed in London doing the “Lonely, Street Walking Syndrome”. Whatever it is with London and Street walking let us just leave it to the experts (a.k.a KPop talent agencies). The quaintness of using of appearing and disappearing random words out of nowhere is the charm of this whole MV. The ballad is already expected from Hyorin though, nevertheless, it was a good song to listen to on your rainy (snowy) alone days.

 

 

1. 2AM’s Regret

There’s nothing much on the MV of this track but a very desert-y place. They are literally walking on a sandy place and out of nowhere there was an ocean where you can drown into. Seriously though, I like how the cinematography of the MV where everything is just gray (yep. The regret-ish color) but the sky remained blue and the clouds were all white. Ballad and 2AM will always remain a perfect fit, there’s no question on that.

 

So, that’s it! Those were the MVs that I thought I should have OMO-ed but I somehow managed to fail in doing so. Do you agree on my opinions and insights? No? Yes? Somehow? Let us know! Just leave your comments below….

And I really truly and sincerely promise to be better at OMO-ing this coming year! I mean that.

I would like to take the opportunity in this post to thank you guys (our beloved readers) for sticking with us this year and without you, I am sure none of this wonderful feelings are possible. Let’s all continue to be together for many, many, many more years to come! FIGHTING! Thank you SOOOOO MUCH!

credits to the following YouTube channels: Official LeeHi, AOM, Official Juniel, 4minuteofficial, LOEN Ent., neowizinternet, chB1A4, jypentertainment, SHINHWACOMPANY, SMTOWN, jtuneamp, starshipTV, BIGBANG, TeenzOnTop, DSPKara, CJESJYJ, missA, ibighit

