OMO: Everybody(, They Are Back Again!) – [SHINee’s Everybody MV Review]

It’s their third time to return to the stage this year and yes, that’s the most amount of comebacks I’ve seen from a SM Ent. group in my whole stay in KPop and add that this is their fourth time to release an album (I know, this is a “mini”-album but still, it is an album). It looks like it is SHINee’s year this time and SHAWols are none the less happy about it.

SHINeeMontage

Before releasing their MV for their title track, they have teased us with Symptoms which I have to briefly commend because it did showcase how powerful the vocals of this team. Their rappers can sing too. That surprised me.

Everybody is more electro than what I previously thought this is going to be. It is electro with a mix of a lot of dubstep, since the beginning of the song, and everything, thus, they’ve said in a press release that this is “complextro”. It is not as electro as f(x)’s electro nor as electro as Lucifer but they are nearing it again because of the dubstep that is thrown all over the whole track specially the chorus. It is nothing like Dream Girl, which they’ve released earlier this year, this one has the avant-garde concept and this is way stronger as oppose to the light and colorful ensemble they’ve had with Dream Girl. Maybe to add variation to balance what they have released earlier.

We first heard this song at their comeback special which had a live-stream on YouTube (Note: the stream was very lag-y!) and my first impression was quite good and the chorus part together with the synth/ dubstep it has in between it attracts you and you will find singing to it and, yes, even copying synth sounds after you’ve watch the stream (again, it was lag-y. Yes. I can’t get over the fact that it was lagging the whole time even if YouTube had disabled the comment box. It was crazy!).

Onew&TheChair

As to the story-line of the music video; There was masked child at the start who “plugged” them which lead to their “activation” and it looks like the whole world became masked people who look like each other (I really didn’t get why there was an angry scorpion at the start and why was the plug bigger than the child) but then after that I did not know what was the story anymore. Maybe if you are a bit of curious and you really wanted to know the whole truth about the song and music video, you’ve probably researched a little about what the lyrics mean (yes, I did that) but just like what the lazy version of myself whispers to me I wanted a more obvious story just like that mysterious girl they put on to Dream Girl and Alice in Wonderland-like jumping around falling into a dizzying maze house kind of thing which was a concrete story until the end or you can stick with your own version of the storyline, yes, the one you concocted in your head.

hashtag

You did not doubt them ever for any of their choreographies right? ‘coz, sure! SHInee’s dancing was never a question and I bet that they suit every dance there is. I even think that no matter how awkward the choreography is if you give that choreography to SHINee it will look one thousand times better. The whole dance routine looks really cool I can’t choose my favorite part but I think that part where Minho is kind of reviving the other members and the other members kind of shake when they are “revived” and the air running thing are all cool ideas.

SHINee

The ever reliable box set is the setting for this MV and yes, we’ve last seen it on SNSD’s Galaxy Supernova and SHINee’s very own Dream Girl MV. The reflective floor never loses its charm and magnificence, isn’t it? I just wish SM could do something else with the setting of their music videos. They’re love for their reflective floor box set is equivalent to YG’s love for their great white set (although YG is venturing on bringing their MVs out on “the real world” now which SM should take consideration of).

I won’t really be surprised of this single does better than Dream Girl because, for my taste, I like this more. Honestly, the whole dark concept suits them. They all look great (Yes, I wish Key will keep the black hair color for the rest of the year and Jong Hyun looks really hot on the teaser images!) but with the surge of comebacks the whole KPop has for this month let’s see how will this SHINee comeback will par with the rest of them.

blondemahoganyblack

Mini Album (Mini) Reaction Part:

  • The first thing that I realized upon hearing the whole album was that the tracks are arranged in decreasing order from the song with the strongest vibe to the softest.
  • I did not like Queen of New York upon the first time of hearing it but it kind of grows on you on the second try
  • One Minute has a Hip Hop-ish RNB feel to it
  • I know that it is really weird of me but I like Close the Door best because I think it is pretty unusual for SHINee to have a soft relaxed ballad track and, surprisingly, it actually works!
  • Colorful is your typical pop.
  • Although I like Everybody more than Dream Girl but I think Misconceptions of Me has a more cohesive collection of tracks than Everybody. The songs in this mini album are meant to stand on their own.

credits: SMTown’s YouTube Channel

Leave a Reply

