Random Thoughts: Chansung’s Acting, Wonder Girls (Indirect Disbandment), Purplay’s Name and Choreography, Shinee’s Comeback and Things (that passed my mind this week)

A week ago Chansung’s (2PM) first acting project, 7th Grade Civil Servant was aired and he stars alongside with Joo Won (from Baker King) and Choi Kang Hee (from Protect the Boss). (Because my mom is an avid Kdrama follower) I had the chance to see how he did on the debut episodes of the show. I guess he did well for a Kdrama starter and he does look good in a suit and in a military uniform (always). He plays a role of an ex-military officer whom fought in a war and he has this kind of trauma that involves a young girl shooting people in a camp. I could go on for spoilers here but I won’t do that and I would just suggest that you should check out the drama because I heard that it is on top of the rating’s chart on its designated timeslot.

chansung

Yes, Sunye got married almost two weeks ago and (another), yes, JYP announced that the other members would do solo activities but why did not just made it direct or something? Is this an indirect disbandment? Would Sunye comeback? I guess the company has nothing tangible to hold on to and they too do not know where this thing will go. They did a (maybe) final performance (wait for it) “before Sunye moves to Canada”. <= That quoted phrase puts me in a lot of frustration, really! So, JYP, did they just disbanded (without us knowing)? Can the Wonder Girls just disappear like that? I mean, they did went under a lot of things: Nobody was a definite hit, they did the US thing and they put a lot of effort in studying the foreign language, they went through a lot of jet lags, did a Nick series, and they danced Like This. I guess, JYP did the best decision ever when he let Sunye get married and he is the best CEO ever for that but what about the rest of the members?

wg

They are hinting that the Wonder Girls will get dissolved and the individual members will go on solo. Again, the effort of building the ‘Wonder Girls’ brand… (*sigh*) (Can’t we just get or appoint another person as the leader?) I am happy because this company is putting the artists’ happiness first before anything else but it really leaves me confused and frustrated; we can’t extract something or anything analyzing this, right?! At this point, I just wish the other remaining members Good Luck and I am (with all honesty) Happy for Sunye. She deserves all the happiness in the world.

What’s with the name Purplay? What the hell is a ‘purplay’? I think the group name is a result of lack of creativity (as well as the choreography). They deserve a thinking time for this. Seriously. To the company that manages them, I get the point that these things are also considered as publicity but copying something out of the blue is not a thing to be proud about. They can dance well though (as seen on their teaser).

Purplay Members

Shinee’s Back (a la Minho style). They will drop the album on the 19th and they have already realeased Key’s, Taemin’s and Jonghyun’s teaser photos (Who would’ve thought they will release Key’s pics first, right?) They will comeback with the track Dazzling Girl and I just hope that they will not just a single track this time (remember Sherlock last year?). See, Shinee can give a lot and they deserve a longer time under the spotlight this time (and I don’t want my Shawol friend to be that lonely again). I would just like to remind that: Most of the time teaser photos are not connected in any way (theme-wise) with the specific song, so let us just stop guessing what the theme of the comeback song will be. That sure thing is that I’ll be watching out for the MV and their killer dance moves, until then. This is out of the comeback topic, but have you seen Key’s Sketchers photo lately? Yep. They’ll be endorsing Sketchers too.

shinee

Jinwoon and Taecyon will be on We Got Married. So that makes it a total of 3 JYP talents have been featured on the said show. Taecyon will be on the ‘international’ version, meaning he will be paired with another talent that is not Korean and is not in Korea. The rumor has it that his partner will be Gui Gui from Taiwan. Jinwon on the other hand, will be on the regular We Got Married. I and wish them a happy (pseudo)married life! (*cough* remember Lee Joon *cough*) I really hope that it will run smoothly for both of them.

jinwoon&taec

Jay Park had two headliners this week; one about that hand with fingers and the other a surprising career (should we call it?) shift. He truly lives his life YOLO-like (the negative YOLO one) and posted a pic of him doing some dirty hand. I don’t know about you but for me, that kind of gesture should not be uploaded anywhere online. Surprisingly, a day after that incident, it was announced that he will be joining the permanent cast of Saturday Night Live Korea (SNL Korea). I am very positive that the incident is just another publicity stunt. Like, c’mon people! I know he has hosting gigs and such but he is not under the radar for quite a while. He needs some spotlight before announcing big things, right?

jaypark

As you have read, this post turned out to be mostly about JYP artists. To make it clear, I am not JYP biased or something it’s just they appear on the news quite often this past week .

And before I totally forget: Happy Lunar New Year!
(Enjoy the season of Hanboks and New Year greetings fellow Kpop-loving people.)
새해 복 많이 받으세요. =)

Leave a Reply

